10 Amazing Healthy Concepts of Ayurvedic Diet

10 Amazing Concepts of Ayurvedic Diet

10 Amazing Healthy Concepts of Ayurvedic Diet
Ayurvedic diet
  1. All the living beings are composed of five basic elements-the Pancha Mahabhootas viz. Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Ether. The growth of the body revolves around these Panchabhuta.
  2. Diet (Ahara) acts like as a medicines depending upon the ways one takes it. In Ayurveda, food is considered as both medicine as well as poison. Therefore, greater thrust should be given on the meal plans as per ayurvedic principles.
  3. Ahara (food) and Vihara (lifestyle) which are favorable, is termed as Pathya (wholesome) and when unfavorable, known as Apathya (unwholesome).
  4. The preventive and curative aspects of Ayurveda revolve around the central theme of Pathya, Ahara and Vihara.
  5. Ayurveda emphasizes basic dietary rules and guidelines in regards of foods. Ayurvedic dietary principles comprise of:
  • Food timings (Kale Bhojana)
  • Food intake as per one’s Vata, Pitta, and Kapha (Satmya Bhojana)
  • Having food as per one’s prakruthi (Hita Bhojan)
  • Proper hygiene (Suchi Bhojan)
  • Unctuous food (Snigdha Bhojan)
  • Having food which is warm (Ushna Bhojan)
  • Taking of food which is easy to digest (Laghu Bhojan)
  • Eat while there is interest to food and while eating concentrate on food
  • Eat food with six taste components (Sad-Rasayukta Ahara)
  • Food should be primarily sweet in nature (Madhura Praya)
  • Food should be ingested calmly, neither too slow nor too fast
  • After bathing (Snatah)
  • Food intake only when there is sufficient hunger (Kshudvan)
  • Proper washing of hand, feet and face should be done before food intake
  • After offering prayers and paying obeisance to gods and forefathers
  • After offering food to guests, teachers and chidren ( Athithi- Balakaguru Tarpana
  • Without disgracing food (Anindan Bhunjaana)
  • Silently (Moun)
  1. Ahara Matra (quantity of food): The requirements of food vary from person to person. Susruta has recommended that as far as intake of foods is concerned; 2 parts should be filled with solid, 1 part of liquid food and the rest should be left empty for easy movement of Vata.
  2. Sequence of food intake: Guru, Madhura and Snigdha food should be taken initially during the course of a meal followed by Amla, Lavana Ahara. Food which is Ruksha, Katu, Tikta and Kashaya should be taken in the end session of the meal.
  3. Ahara vidhi viseshaayatana: To get the maximum benefits of diet, it is utmost important to have the knowledge about “ Ashta Ahara Vidhivisheshaayatana”. They are
  • Prakriti- it indicates the nature of food, such as guru (Heavy food like milk, flesh), Laghu (food i.e. green gram, which is easily digestible), Seeta (cold food viz. milk), Ushna (hot food like spicy one), Ruksha (dryness inducing food), Snigdha (ghee and butter) and their impact on Agni.
  • Karana- food modifications through Agni, water etc.
  • Samyoga- Combinations of food which quash the actions of the individual components.
  • Raashi-food required by individual person
  • Desha-The dynamics of the food consumed is revolved around the habitat of the individual.
  • Kaala- It indicates climate, phase of digestion, timing of the day, Stage of disease etc.
  • Upayoga Samstha-food should be taken as per the guidelines and rules of ayurveda.
  • Upayokta-Food intake should be guided by the personal preference and Okasatmya (habitual homologation) of each individual.


  1. Concept of Viruddhahara (Dietetic Incompatibility): Incompatibility or Viruddha is a unique concept in Ayurveda. The drugs and diet that provoke doshas are come under
  2. Viruddhahara foods if consumed regularly can lead to number of disorders such as Impotency, Visarpa (erysipelas), blindness, ascitis, psychiatric conditions, fistula in ano, coma or fainting, intoxication, abdominal distension, stiffness, anaemia, indigestions, skin diseases, gastritis, fever, rhinitis, and infertility.

Leave a Comment