Cobra Pose Yoga For Weight Loss And To Lose Belly Fat

What is cobra pose?

Cobra pose is a prone laying yoga pose wherein the upper parts of the body are lifted to the navel region, keeping the head stretched upward without experiencing unnecessary pain in the back. Because of its twisting, compressing, procedures, techniques, and alignment, the entire body from head to toe experiences suitable stretching, thereby helping in the burning of belly fat; it mainly works well in case of women burn belly fat; it mainly works well in case of women losing too. Since it seems like a cobra hood, therefore called cobra, pose yoga.

Cobra Pose For Weight Loss And To Lose Belly Fat
Cobra Pose

Cobra poses to lose belly fat

.While the upper trunk is raised by keeping the navel on the surface, it provides adequate stretching on the abdominal surface. Practising it regularly and maintaining the pose for 2 minutes ensures combating abdominal fats and makes the stomach flat. Doing the pose consistently and taking fresh fruits, vegetables, and lean protein will make the task more straightforward: to lose belly fat.

Cobra poses for healthy weight loss

Bhujangasana is not only a belly fat burner; it works well for the weight loss of the entire body. The procedures of the pose are such that the body, from toes to head, experiences adequate stretching and maintains it regularly, regulates the metabolic process, and overcomes weight and obesity.

Easy procedures of doing cobra pose

  • Lie down in the prone position and make the whole body relax.
  • Your legs should be straight and stretched without having gaps between them.
  • Your hands should be beside your body; keep palms and elbows on the ground.
  • Inhale slowly and lift the chin and chest to the navel region without experiencing unnecessary pain in the back.
  • Stay there comfortably initially for 30 seconds; its duration can be increased to 2 to 3 minutes or even longer.


  • Pregnancy
  • Fracture ribs
  • Wrists problems
  • Abdominal injuries
  • Hernia
  • Headache and migraine
  • Carpal tunnel syndrome
  • Sever back problems
  • Shoulder and elbow problems
  • Peptic ulcers
  • Intestinal tuberculosis
  • Hypothyroidism
  • Sciatica
  • Slip-disc
  • Ulcerative colitis


  • While practising the pose, the back shouldn’t experience undo strain.
  • Try to keep the lesser gap between the legs, and the toes should be pointed outwards.
  • However, if somebody has back pain, it is better to have distance between the legs while performing the yoga pose.

10 best benefits of cobra pose

  1. Sexual disorders: Yoga is good for women’s health. Therefore, women should practice it to prevent gynaecological diseases such as leucorrhea, dysmenorrhea, syphilis, amenorrhea, etc.
  2. Good for Thyroid gland health: The thyroid gland releases hormones, i.e., thyroxine (T-4) and triiodothyronine (T-3), which impact every body cell. These two hormones are responsible for how the body uses fats and carbohydrates. This yoga gives gentle stretching to the gland and ensures proper functioning.
  3. Enhances kidney efficiency: The yoga pose removes the stagnant blood by compressing the kidneys and improves their efficiency.
  4. Back pain cures: Stretching to the entire spinal region makes the muscles loosen around the vertebral column, thus suitable for a healthy spine.
  5. Asthma treatment: The cobra pose stretching expands the chest and the lung’s internal region, helping to prevent asthmatic attacks.
  6. Digestion becomes smooth: Its practice ensures proper secretion of gastric juices, which helps to cure indigestion and constipation.
  7. Sciatic pain treatments: If the pose is practised under the supervision of a yoga teacher, the sciatica pain may be treated.
  8. Stress management yoga: It massages the adrenal glands, situated on top of the kidneys, thus helping to relieve tension.
  9. Beneficial in slipped disc: The slipped disc patients should practice it before the yoga teacher.
  10. Kundalini awakening: Bhujangasana stimulates Root Chakra (Muladhara), Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana), Navel Chakra (Manipura), Heart Chakra (Anahata), Throat Chakra (Vishuddha), Third Eye Chakra (Ajna) and Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) thereby helps in Kundalini awakening.

Leave a Comment